Offline CourtneyLove.fhotd64476

  • Name: Courtney
  • Age: 34
  • Gender: Female
  • Location: Ocala FL US
Total Posts Last Post Last Seen Joined
24 06/15/09 20:11:12 09/01/09 21:06:41 11/03/08
Visitors Now Visitors Today Most Visits Total Visits
0 0 9
03/03/10
34

Send Supporter Gift

Remove this ad

Oh hot damn, these are my jams

Pepper, O.A.R., Incubus, Dave Matthews Band, Journey, Steve Miller Band, Lifehouse, Dashboard Confessional, Matchbox 20, John Mayer, Jack Johnson

It's always all about me.

Horses have been a very large part of my life since I was a very young kid, when I loved nothing more than spending time on my aunt and uncle's farm where they always had a couple Arabian horses. The best suggestion my mother ever gave to me was asking me if I would rather start taking riding lessons because she was tired of sitting in a cold ice arena day after day (I had been taking figure skating lessons since I was 3). I started riding at a local h/j farm, leased a Thoroughbred named Jester that was sold, leaving me what I thought at the time was heartbroken and so I started focusing more on other sports than riding. When I learned that my high school had an equestrian team, I was introduced to the world of quarter horses just so I could ride and show again, and fell in love with that breed.

Throughout high school and part of college, I showed my quarter horse mare (there is nothing I love more than a chestnut mare) until she got a well-deserved break and acheived broodmare status. She will always have a home with me for the rest of her life. I began teaching lessons and breaking horses and decided that that was what I wanted to do for the rest of my life, so went to college for just that. (Go Spartans!) In college, I got shellshocked from being thrown into the Arabian horse world....competing on a 2-time national championship judging team, and training, riding, and showing on the Class A Arab circuit.

After college I made the huge move from Michigan to Florida after being offered a job working for a well-known trainer that will remain anonymous, where I worked approximately 100 hours a week riding horses and putting up with bullshit. I was hoping that that job would lead me to bigger and better things, and it did in a way...because I quit. Now I am an equine veterinary technician for one of the largest equine hospitals in the country and have been introduced to the Thoroughbred racing industry, because that is the primary focus of our work. This job has encouraged me to go back to school, and I will be applying to veterinary school at the University of Florida. *keeping fingers crossed*

My recent posts

No posts yet.

Comments about me

Leave a comment

  1. avatar

    Timid Wild One

    User Infostatus offline107 Points

    11/03/08

    Love the profile, Court :) I miss you!